With a rat-tat-tat-tat of the cymbals and a swift kick to the drum, 4 Strings from Michaela Brown begins a journey through a series of violin solos that will steal your attention from everything else around you.  Released in 2011 as Michaela’s premiere instrumental project, the variety of music within this project spins together a beautiful tapestry of culture, grace and time your ear won’t soon forget.  From Irish folk tunes to hymns, Classical music, a popular Beatles tune and a Christmas song, 4 Strings takes a number of songs from a number of genres and blends them together as one.

Style:  The selections on 4 Strings hail from different musical genres, and therefore, the arrangements and accompaniment tracks backing up the violin are unique also.  Some of the  arrangements have a lively, modernized sound.  For example, you’ll hear a little bass guitar and electric guitar in the Irish folk tune Toss the Feathers and in the Beatles popular Eleanor Rigby.  Two very different styles of music, but with those two instruments in the background providing an underlying theme, the numbers sound very similar.  On the other hand, there are some tracks that are uniquely their own.  Track 9, Chorus From “Judas Maccabaeus” is the soft ballad of the recording – smooth violin and piano all the way through, very few dynamics, but stunning in its own respect.  Malaguena is another…the styling in this one will remind you of a Spanish dance and brightly colored sombreros!  The intro of the Zion Medley has an electronic feel – but by far, the masterpiece of the recording is I Sing the Mighty Power with Canon in D.  The arrangement takes the word “powerful” to a whole new level!  No matter what genre the songs come from, you will enjoy the selections thoroughly!

Track List:
1. Joyful, Joyful Medley
2. My Hope Is In The Lord
3. Toss The Feathers
4. Zion Medley
5. Eleanor Rigby
6. Malaguena
7. I Sing the Mighty Power/Canon in D
8. Joy Of Life/Trout in The Bath
9. Chorus From “Judas Maccabaeus”
10. Carol Of The Bells

Conclusion:  As a big fan of the violin, I really enjoyed 4 Strings!  There are a lot of different kind of music represented on it, but I see that as a strength.  Many instrumental projects focus on just one genre, like “hymns” or “Jazz,” but with Michaela’s CD one listened to a little bit of everything, and I think that makes the recording unique and valuable.  When the last track ended, I felt like I just listened to a bit of history wrapped up in ten songs.  It was so enjoyable!  The violin itself was perfect.  One doesn’t have to know how to play to recognize the quality in Michaela’s bow!  The notes etched in the recording are fun, sweet and worshipful.  I hope you will make one of these projects yours if you haven’t already done so!  You can buy this project HERE!

Author: lynnschronicles

Leave a Reply