Next event in:

  • 00 DAYS
  • 00 HR
  • 00 MIN
  • 00 SEC

The Latest

FireStorm – Around The World In 80 Books #74

Categories: Books,The Latest

Setting: Paraguay
Time Period: Modern Day

“FireStorm” by Jeanette Windle is the second installment of Sara Conner’s story. Because I didn’t read the first book in the series, there was a backstory I missed, but even so, I didn’t have a problem connecting with the plot or figuring out what was going on. That was a huge plus for me and one of the reasons I really liked this book.

If you’re not familiar with Jeanette Windle’s novels, then you should know I have dubbed her the queen of South America settings for Contemporary and Military Fiction. Like Sara’s story, we cross into borders like Bolivia and Paraguay to catch up with drug dealers, terrorists and difficult DEA agents for a couple hundred intense pages of fiction. In this book, the author developed memorable characters that will be hard to forget. Not just Sara, Doug and Cynthia, but even the bad guys were so fine tuned I just might have bad dreams about Vargas and Selah’s “terrorist mission plannings!” Though the story was fiction, it all felt very real.

I’ll also mention that “FireStorm” is a pretty long book, coming in at 713 pages. Though this book isn’t for the faint of heart, it is well written and exciting. There’s so many details and captivating plots. I’m an average reader, so I don’t fly through books very quickly. That made this a really l-o-n-g read for me, but so worth it. Literally, every piece of information mentioned comes around to be a key element in the story later. There were places where the author could have ended it with a “happy ever after,” but instead kept the suspense and intrigue going. Through that, I felt like I “lived” with the characters and really learned who they were. A masterpiece, really!

Conclusion: If you like long books and a good intense intelligent agency / terrorist story, then this book is for you. I’ve read several of Jeanette Windle’s books now, and each one is unique and interesting. Faith plays a big part, but it’s not too preachy. You’ll fall in love with the characters and see them grow, fight for freedom and ultimately, be who God called them to be through a high energy tale that will keep your attention to the end. Also, if you want to read the series in order, “Crossfire” is Book #1 and “FireStorm” book #2.

Author: lynnschronicles

Leave a Reply